Mama, Claire, and I spent the last few days in Dickson, crashing Grammy and Granddaddy’s condo (THANK Y’ALL SO MUCH!!!). We spent the days laughing shopping, eating, laughing, eating, watching movies (We raided your wonderful collection, Aunt Carol! Thank you!!!), swimming, laughing, eating, sleeping, and just generally enjoying ourselves. It was marvelous! Loads of fun! We decided we needed to do that more often than once every 5 or so years, which, we think, was the last time we did something like this.

Anyway, I took my camera, but I didn’t get it out at all. So, no pictures. Here’s a brief overview of what we did though:

Sunday:

  • Enjoyed worship
  • Time with family and friends
  • Headed to Dickson late, arriving around 11:00pm.

Monday:

  • Started the day fairly early by heading to Publix for breakfast.
  • Ross
  • The Container Store (interesting, but I think we liked IKEA better overall)
  • Starbucks
  • The Cheesecake Factory
  • Southeastern Salvage
  • Thrift Smart (LOVE that place! This time I am most proud of music find: The High Kings first CD for, like, $2.45! And yes, it works perfectly – I think it’s only missing the lyrics sheet, if it ever had one.)
  • Music City Thrift, Bargain Hunt, and Aldi’s (Mama went into the first two while Claire and I picked up food at Aldi’s.)
  • Claire and I enjoyed an evening swim.
  • Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers ended the evening in “Shall We Dance.”

Tuesday:

  • Dickson Goodwill
  • Kroger (was hoping to pick up sushi for lunch, but they didn’t have any, so we came home with cheese, crackers, and spinach artichoke spread instead)
  • We came back and played Sequence while eating lunch.
  • We tried to watch “My Big Fat Greek Wedding,” but decided it would be improved with ClearPlay, so we changed to “Here Comes the Groom.” Interesting that Bing Crosby would play such similar parts in both that and “High Society,” and both would have cameos of Louis Armstrong. I think of the two I prefer “High Society.”
  • We also washed most of our thrifting finds while watching “Here Comes the Groom.”
  • Swimming (Thank you, Aunt Carol, for the use of your floats!) and tons of laughing.
  • When we got back, we ordered Papa John’s. We country folk enjoyed the power of ordering in. 🙂 We ate on the back porch in the perfect weather!
  • We closed the evening with Doris Day in “My Dream is Yours” (I think).

Wednesday:

  • Late start to the morning. We hated to see our relaxing time together come to an end!
  • Stripped the beds, washed the sheets and towels, remade the beds, packed, etc.
  • Watched one last movie, another Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers: “Swing Time.”
  • Goodwill for a couple things we forgot the day before – thankfully they were still there.
  • Then we refueled and headed home.

When we got home we were greeted by progress! Cabinets are being installed in the sewing room!!!!! I’m really excited! I can’t wait to see the finished product! 😀

For a while we were the only ones home, but eventually the menfolk got back from picking up a piano. Daddy and Kyle are particularly thankful that Chris chose this week to make is visit. We did enjoy his vivacity and joy, and we’re looking forward to his next visit.

It was good to have some pickin’ and grinnin’ going on here agian; it’s been way too long!

Today is Thursday which means, of course, it’s cookie day! Today I chose to try a new recipe I’d found a while back. They’re quick, easy, and delicious!

Mama, Daddy, Claire, Kyle, and Luke got their glasses today. They ordered from Zinni, and I think, overall, they’re please with them. Claire is probably going to be wearing them all the time now, and Luke might be – we’re not entirely sure yet. Looks like I’m the last one with decent eyesight. 😉

Well, I think I have some mowing I should be attending to. Just thought this blog was due for an update.

