I forgot to include this in the last post. I picked up a keychain during Presbytery! 🙂

I wanted to post a few of these quotes before we left for Presbytery, but I didn’t have a chance, so here you go:

Democracy is not philanthropy; it is not even altruism or social reform. Democracy is not founded on pity for the common man; democracy is founded on reverence for the common man, or, if you will, even on fear of him.

… The worship of great men always appears in times of weakness and cowardice; we never hear of great men until the time when all other men are small.

It is clear that the more we are certain what good is, the more we shall see good in everything.

Those are from Heretics, by G. K. Chesterton.

Knowledge of how to do your duty in one area [of life] transfers readily to another area.

The fact that you can’t remember things doesn’t mean that you haven’t been shaped by them.

The quality of what you keep will be directly proportional to how much you are willing to throw away.

Extending yourself in any situation is the best way to be able to extend yourself in every situation.

Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought. But don’t undershoot either.

And those are from Wordsmithy, by Doug Wilson. Both are excellent books, and I thoroughly enjoyed them – though I admit that I enjoyed Wordsmithy more than Heretics.

