It’s beautiful. It’s breathtaking. And, boy, ain’t it busy!

You know all those songs about lazy summers? Well, they’re lying. Just sayin’. Still, today being exactly a week since my last post, I thought I’d pop by and whip out a quick post. I don’t have the time or inclination to do much more than that.

I thought I’d share a few of my thus-far favorite quotes from Orthodoxy:

Nietzsche had some natural talent for sarcasm; he could sneer, though he could not laugh;…

Every man who will not have a softening of the heart must at last have softening of the brain.

Falling in love is more poetical than dropping into poetry.

I will always trust the old wives’ fables against the old maids’ facts.

… the old Greeks could not see the trees for the dryads. [Makes me think of Narnia, but I love the Greek literature too, so win-win, right?]

Upon the whole, I came to the conclusion that the optimist thought everything good except the pessimist, and that the pessimist thought everything bad, except himself.

Love is not blind; that is the last thing that it is. Love is bound; and the more it is bound, the less it is blind.

See? G. K. Chesterton’s writing is amazing! I love it! Though I enjoyed Father Brown more, Orthodoxy is deeper and more thought-provoking. I’m probably not even half-way through it yet, so no doubt y’all will see a few more quotes from time to time.

Now I think I’ll go reserve a Gordon Setter. Though I pray that, if this is not a wise decision, the Lord would close that door by the breeder getting back with me saying the litter doesn’t have any more females available.

