• Psalm 127, particularly verses 2 and 4-5, but I’ll include the whole thing here ’cause it’s good. 😉

1Except the LORD build the house, they labour in vain that build it: except the LORD keep the city, the watchman waketh but in vain.

2It is vain for you to rise up early, to sit up late, to eat the bread of sorrows: for so he giveth his beloved sleep.

3Lo, children are an heritage of the LORD: and the fruit of the womb is his reward.

4As arrows are in the hand of a mighty man; so are children of the youth.

5Happy is the man that hath his quiver full of them: they shall not be ashamed, but they shall speak with the enemies in the gate.

On verse 2 I’ve been trying to apply it to my life as I continue to exist without knowing my grade on the final (yeah, I know, kinda lame, but still…)

Verses 4-5 have been on my mind quite a bit lately. Probably has something to do with being possibly done with college work. What is my role now? Well, my role, as I see it, is to be an arrow in the hand of a mighty man (my father). As an arrow, my job is to go swiftly and smoothly in the direction I am shot. Also as an arrow, I don’t necessarily have a say in what that direction is. Since I’m in the hand of such a wonderful mighty man, I need not fear that I will be shot somewhere I would utterly detest. No, he loves me too much to do that. The direction may be challenging, but it won’t be terrible. There’s great comfort in that.

But here’s what I’ve really been thinking about: like any good Christian, homeschooled, stay-at-home daughter, I am extremely familiar with the metaphor of the arrow. I am comfortable with the idea that children, particularly older (teens +), single daughters, are used by the father as part of his ministry to the church, community, and even world. What we don’t hear quite as often is that we’re to go willingly wherever we’re sent by our mighty man. That includes the home. I’m used to hearing of arrow-daughters being sent to help other families with young children or health issues or as midwife assistants, etc. I’m not so used to hearing of us being sent to do the dishes, fold the laundry, cook the meals. What I’ve come to realize more and more (I knew it before, it’s just struck me a lot lately.) is that these tasks are just as much as if we’d be “shot”, so to speak, as if we were helping the elderly or on the mission field. This has been very important for me to realize because I tend to want to go and do something rather than stay and do what I’ve been called to do. So there, that’s the main thing I’ve been thinking about; the others won’t be developed quite as much.

  • Interrogation isn’t conversation. Goodness knows we eligible, single girls love to interrogate any and every other girl that’s involved in, or has just completed, a courtship! I love it as much as the next girl, but I’m wondering if doing that is really such a good idea. And no, this thought doesn’t just apply to girls interrogating other, courting girls; we just happen to be particularly prone to it, I think. 😛
  • Too much of a good thing, while it doesn’t have to diminish the goodness of the thing, tends, I think, to diminish our appreciation of its goodness. Does that make sense?

Okay, those are the main thoughts I’ve been dwelling on since I took my final. Now I’ve got some duties to attend to, and maybe later get some pictures of Susie’s new calf (yep, she calved yesterday! A rather large, very dark bull calf which we have already banded.).

