And I didn’t even try!

Apparently some of the FEMAs I did were enough to complete the “Professional Development Series.”  Now, I want to hear everyone’s oohs and ahhs, ‘kay? 🙄

For the record I did all of the following FEMAs (just in case someone else wants to do what I did and get a surprise certificate from FEMA in the mail.):

  • IS-1 Emergency Program Manager: An Orientation to the Position [really easy, probably my favorite.]
  • IS-3 Radiological Emergency Management
  • IS-5 Hazardous Materials: A Citizen’s Orientation [I can’t read “citizen” without thinking of the French Revolution; weird, I know.]
  • IS-7 A Citizen’s Guide to Disaster Assistance
  • IS-8 Building for the Earthquakes of Tomorrow: Complying with Executive Order 12699
  • IS-10 Animals in Disaster – Module A Awareness and Preparedness
  • IS-11 Animals in Disaster – Module B Community Planning
  • IS-15 Special Event Contingency Planning for Public Safety Agencies
  • IS-111 Livestock in Disasters
  • IS-120 An Orientation to Community Disaster Exercises
  • IS-139 Exercise Design [after doing all the above, this one was a breeze!]
  • IS-208 State Disaster Management
  • IS-230 Principles of Emergency Management
  • IS-235 Emergency Planning
  • IS-240 Leadership and Influence
  • IS-241 Decision Making and Problem Solving
  • IS-242 Effective Communication [another easy one, IMO]
  • IS-244 Developing and Managing Volunteers
  • IS-271 Anticipating the Hazardous Weather [something of a headache since I had to go to an entirely different website and do everything except the final exam there; took forever!]
  • IS-288 The Role of Voluntary Agencies in Emergency Management
  • IS-301 Radiological Emergency Responses [UGH! I think I did this one 6 times before finally passing!!!]
  • IS-393 Introduction to Mitigation [after IS-301 it occurred to me (duh, I know) to look down the list of TESC-credit-eligible FEMAs for the easy sounding ones… Introduction. Riiiight. Why didn’t I think of that before???]
  • IS-394 Mitigation for Homeowners [I’d say mitigation was my best emergency management subject. :)]
I’ve already mentioned that I did the last 11 of these in one day. It was a long, headache-inducing day, but so rewarding! Especially if TESC will actually accept all these. (and don’t worry, I fully expect them NOT to.)
So, what are FEMAs good for in respect to the small farmin’, middle-of-no-where-livin’ family? Not really sure ’bout that one. So far I’ve found them to be good for making and receiving jokes. “…if nuclear fallout DOES happen…”
Anyway, just wanted to share my latest received recognition with y’all. 😛 Oh! The books for my TESC course are beginning to arrive! I’ve got 8 books to read for a 12-week course. Seems like a lot, but I can do it if the other work load isn’t too bad.
… And beg for prayer… y’all knew this was coming, didn’t you? Well, my World Conflicts exam is tomorrow at 10:30am; I’d love some prayers! Thanks so much, y’all!!!
