I was warned that studying for the Western Europe DSST was unbelievably boring. It is. So, I’m gonna share my thoughts, as I think them, while I attempt to conquer these last 2 InstantCert sections. … You lucky readers…!

  • The US had a long tradition of good money policies and balanced budgets even after WWII?! Impressive how quickly things change.
  • The whole idea behind guest workers is strange. Why try to replace your own people? Will the natives not then get upset by all the foreigners taking “their” jobs? Then again, the guest workers are probably willing to do the job for less…
  • The VAT sounds … immoral? Wrong, anyway. Could be my American sensibilities coming through there though.
  • Ouch. Only 41% right. This is gonna take some time. I hope I can finish before dinner. … I probably ought to stop blogging about it then. … Naw.
  • Has America ever been debt-free? If I’m remembering correctly, there was an awful vicious cycle of money within post-WWII nations, what with loans, debts, and reparations.
  • Post-WWII. The generation or two where college degrees were valuable?
  • “The service sector includes teachers, bankers, journalists and government employees.” And janitors (or are they in industry?).
  • What was the dominant economic theory before WWII and Keynes? Don’t answer that. I’m not really interested.
  • “The time of … individualism was over.” Keynes argued. Ummm… Mr. Keynes? Individualism has, for better or worse, been around forever. I don’t think your newfangled theories will catch on in the long run.
  • “Keynesian economists claim that the government can directly influence the demand for goods and services by altering tax policies and public spending.” Prove it.
  • Guaranteed jobs don’t seem like a particularly good idea.
  • Show me a planned economy that has worked for a lengthy period of time.
  • Only one more section to go!!!
  • Does war increase participation in conservative parties?
  • Family allowances?!? Does this not give the government a foothold when they want to step in and tell you how to raise your kids? “We’re paying you to raise these children. Do it this way!”
  • “Won’t you wear my ring… around your neck… to show the world… I’m your’s by heck…!” Ahem. Yeah, that doesn’t have anything to do with western Europe.
  • What exactly is the difference between Nazis and Communists?
  • Greece! For some reason, I don’t think of that nation at all after the fall of their empire…
  • Almost done…
  • FINISHED!!! What a day. Been through every set of IC flashcards until I got 100%. Tomorrow I’ll do the entire set at the same time… maybe. I’ll probably go back over the European Union stuff first though. There are just so many acronyms; I can’t remember them all!
