(until know, that is) but we were there. It exists. Rocky River Heritage Days, or Hard Times, U.S.A.

Missionary Ridge was one of the 4 or 5 bands to perform at one of the most gorgeous places I have ever seen. It’s a private event, only the entire county and specially invited folks come (or something like that). There were a LOT of people there. It was a relaxed event, fun and unusual. BEA-U-TI-FUL!

The food was to gorge for, and gorge I did. Wow, it was good! Though the dessert I got was rather disappointing (soggy-ish pecan crust, layer of cool whip, layer of box chocolate-strawberry pudding, another layer of cool whip. I knew I should have gotten that dark, dark chocolate cream pie!). The barbecue though…! SOOOOOOOO good! and homemade apple cider!!!! and homemade cream corn!!! Oh, I’m hungry!

We were too busy enjoying and gorging ourselves to take many pictures, but here are a few of the good ones:

One of the first things we saw when we arrived was this 1869 apple cider press! Luke was extremely excited. I was too. Instead of waiting in line to turn the thing though, I went over to the ladies bottling the cider, and doled out a dollar for some delicious, fresh apple cider!

Oxen pulling a covered wagon. I saw these guys acting up before they were parked. That was NOT a good feeling.

Did I mention that there’s an entire mini-western town there? and that the whole thing is privately owned by a large equipment contractor? I think I know a few young men who would be enthusiastic large equipment contractors. 😉

We got a kick out of this. The blue one is Men’s. Mama, Claire, and I decided that was probably the right ratio.

“Our” cabin. The bands got their own private cabin to tune up in, leave their stuff, use the restroom, etc. Of course, Missionary Ridge’s roadies appreciated the private cabin (read: bathroom) as well.

View of the small reenactment camp, large pond, and covered bridge from the cabin’s wonderful, deep porch.

There was even a stagecoach there! Don’t often see those here in middle TN.

I reckon it’s only right to include a picture of the reason we were there: Missionary Ridge performing. We left pretty soon after they finished their set. It was a fun and unique day!

Well, I better go now. We’re preparing for another Missionary Ridge gig. This time though, it’s not just a day away from home, it’s 4 days. We’re leaving Thursday morning for Norris, TN for the Museum of Appalachia Homecoming Festival thing. I know, it’s crazy! We’re in the middle of a massive move, yet here we go taking a mini-vacation! Ah, well. It should be fun (I’m hoping to obtain a key chain sometime over the weekend!); we’ll just have to work extra hard when we get back.

’til then!

