When you’re having fun! Indeed, we’ve been enjoying ourselves immensely these past few weeks.

Let’s see, since my last post the garden hasn’t improved much, but we have gotten a few more tomatoes, and it looks like we’ve got a mess of beans to pick. So that’s good.

Our latest adventure would probably be … well, okay, so singing Veggie Tales songs in the car while eating Oreo McFlurries  the other day was pretty crazy, but the more interesting bit of life we experienced this past week was helping out at the Daniel Brantley Foundation fundraiser at the South Jackson Civic Center in Tullahoma. Claire and I helped with the food (catered by the Flatiron Cafe), and Daddy ushered. Mama stayed home with Kyle and Luke; they had to milk before joining us. Bluegrass is one totally awesome genre! The musicians, performers, folks all have fun when they’re up on stage or standing around talking with their fans. They’re down-to-earth people who will play just as eagerly with a beginner as a professional! I LOVE it! 🙂 All that to say, the performers were awesome, and Dailey and Vincent are absolutely THE BEST, and I would totally love to go see them at the Ryman this Thursday (I don’t think that’s going to happen though)! I think we’ve got some pictures from Saturday on the camera, but they aren’t downloaded yet. If any are worth it, I’ll post some later.

Sorta along those lines, Claire got a new fiddle!!! I was going to let her post about it, but she doesn’t seem to be doing it… Anyway, it sounds SO much better than her old one! We are quite pleased with it! 🙂 She’s also figured out how to play “Hit the Road, Jack” in Em on both the fiddle and the piano.  I’ve got all four chords down on the bass, and Kyle’s got them on the guitar. Luke even came in when we were playing it the other night and picked those notes out on the piano! Obviously, it’s an easy bass line, but there’s lots of potential for adding some interesting riffs. Unfortunately, I don’t know enough to do that yet.

As a side note, I’m having Dailey and Vincent withdrawals!


Other pages of interest (for my family’s amusement…):

http://www.myspace.com/joedeanjr

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1405398/

and one for my church family’s amusement:

http://www.imdb.com/character/ch0036916/ 😉

For those not in the know, yes, there is a story behind each of these links, and no, I’m not telling! 😀

