I figured it was about time to post a general update on this here blog. That can be rather difficult sometimes though ’cause “general” changes minute by minute. Here ’tis though! Some of it anyway.

I was tagged by Camille to post the sixth picture in my sixth file… I’m not quite sure what that means, but let me check my files………………. looking…………………………………………. yeah, still looking…………………………… I don’t know that I have six files with pictures…………………… huh………………………………. I know, how ’bout I post the sixth picture from the sixth file in 2009 from the family’s pictures! Otherwise, it would be a picture of (1) background texturing stuff for blogs/websites/etc., (2) the crack in our counter [I think Daddy was asking around to see if anyone had any practical solutions for fixing it], or (3) a picture of an event I didn’t attend way back in late 2005.

Ummm… okay, the sixth decent picture. I swore I wouldn’t post a picture of Luke when he had the chicken pox. 😛 Here it is!

2009-05-19 016

Oh, this is from Claire’s fiddle recital at the Flatiron Cafe in Manchester.

Tag. Check. Now for the rest of the stuff. Since my last post, we had family from NM and AR. Our cousin taught us how to play a light version of Egyptian Rattail (is that right?), so we’ve been having fun with that since then.

We had a community yard sale down in Viola proper. See, when a town had a total population not exceeding 400 it’s kinda difficult to draw folks in for a yard sale, so the community comes together and gets enough people willing to participate in the yard sale (at least 10 households) and advertises it. That way we get a little more traffic. Well, we kids decided to be a bit entrepreneurial, and sell some homemade fried pies. We had a bunch of cans of pie filling from when we were making pies for The Pickin’ Parlor and The Lunchbox a couple years ago, so we used that and made our own crust. We spent a day and a half making blueberry, peach, apple, and cherry fried pies. By the end of the day (of the yard sale) we’d sold all the fried pies; we did have to lower our price from $1.5o to just $1.00 though. Apparently Viola community yard sale attendees are tightwads… 😉

Oh, I mentioned another performance in my last post; that went well, for the most part. I think we were a bit rougher that time around, for some reason.

The garden is coming in. Actually, the part of the garden I particularly enjoy is coming in. That would be the more correct way of putting it; the cabbage, broccoli, and lettuce have, for the most part, played out already. The squash, cucumbers, and green beans are coming in now! In fact, we canned 13 quarts of green beans today!

We’re going without air conditioning. *watches everyone’s jaw drop* Yeah, I know! We’re crazy for doing that in this, ahem, lovely Tennessee weather, but hopefully we’ll see longer-ish term benefits to this. It’ll take some getting used to. I believe we may be incorporating frozen drinks and a lot of fresh fruit into our diet! 😉 In fact, I made a cold peach soup for dinner this evening that was, if I do say so myself, delicious! This is only our second week, and we usually turn it on when we leave for church since we’d rather not leave the whole-house fan on while we’re away for extended periods of time.

Let’s see, have I any other news?… We are eagerly anticipating a visit from very dear friends that we haven’t seen since Reformation weekend, I think! Y’all shouldn’t stay away so long!!! I decided to jump on the recent Vision Forum sale, and buy the set of Ballantyne books. I’m trying to look at such a large purchase generationally: my boys will love them! That’s the only way I can convince myself that I did the right thing. 😛

I’m currently reading THIS book. It’s a book Mama used in her favorite college class. I don’t know what worldview Charles Breunig had when writing this, but it has made me think, and I’ve written down quite a few passages to contemplate further. Here’s one that I found surprisingly applicable, or very nearly so anyway. He is speaking here of France before the French Revolution.

Little needs to be said concerning the political weaknesses of the Old Regime. A government which could not raise adequate revenues clearly revealed its lack of political effectiveness. General confusion and inefficiency prevailed in the royal administration, which consisted of successive layers of offices, bureaus, and agencies that had piled up over many centuries, with jurisdictions that were now ill defined and sometimes contradictory.

And another one:

The confiscation of church lands did not solve the financial problem of the government immediately. Land could not, after all, be used to pay the states debts. The government planned to sell the lands; in the meantime, it issued to its creditors interest-bearing notes (known as assignats) which had the former Church lands as security. Whoever acquired assignats was entitled to certain privileges in the purchase of Church lands. The state was to retire the notes as teh lands were sold. But not long after the assignats had been issued, they began to circulate as paper currency, and the government yielded to the temptation to put more and more of them into circulation. So began the inflation that formed an important part of the history of the revolution, as the government printed more and more assignats to meet its obligations, they lost over 99% of their face value. Yet the inflation of these years was not without its benefits: it enabled successive revolutionary regimes to liquidate much of the national debt by paying off their creditors in cheap money, and it spurred the growth of a class of enterprising businessmen who acquired assignats at their depreciated value and used them at their face value to purchase Church lands.

— France again, but during the National Assembly around 1789

Last one, it’s short!

The general inefficiency of the government, evidence of corruption in high places, and an economic crisis provoked further antipathy to the regime.

— About how the administration of Ferdinand VII brought on the revolts in 1820

Okay, okay, I’m done; just thought I’d share some of the shorter passages I’ve written down. I shall take my leave now, only remember: spontaneous human combustion happens, and it’s a problem! 😉

