I just haven’t really had anything to post about. As I don’t wish to entirely desert this blog however, I will try to give an update of things we’ve done, are doing, or will do. This will be another one of those extremely boring posts though!

For the past couple of weeks Claire, Kyle, and I have been preparing for a revival we’re singing for at one of Granddaddy’s churches tomorrow night. We’re doing “My Jesus, I Love Thee,” “Amazing Grace,” Southwind” (instrumental waltz), and “Where the Soul Never Dies.” We didn’t have time to figure out how we could incorporate “Tennessee Stud” into our ‘routine.’ 😀 We recently got a small sound system that has made practice for this WAY easier! Amazingly we’ve practiced almost everyday, and hopefully everything will go fine tomorrow. We’re also working on a jazzed up version of “Precious Memories,” so that should be… interesting if we ever get it down. Claire can do anything… except maybe get the parts Kyle and I are supposed to sing through our heads!

Garden work has been all too minimal lately, so we were very surprised the other night when we went out and gathered the rest of the cow peas for seed. There are still tomatoes, peppers, okra, and basil!!! We need to start cleaning up the garden soon though. I think we’ll be working on that throughout this week.

There is some possibility that we will be slaughtering a steer this weekend, but we’re not completely sure about that yet. I don’t think I ever posted about our third bull calf born at Allelon Farm. Several weeks ago our cow, 31, gave us a little bull calf!!! 31 gave us a bull calf a couple of years ago too, but it was either born dead or died soon after birth. We have read that in times of stress cows are most likely to give birth to heifer calves, so we figured that these years of drought haven’t been very conducive to bull calves. We’re just glad to have another steer out there in the field now. 🙂 Our “herd” has grown from two bred cows and two bred heifers to 17 Angus and 2 Jersey in 4 years. I think that’s probably slower than industrial cattle farms, but it’s pretty good for our small place!

Now I have a question for those experienced with cows, particularly Jerseys. How long is it okay to keep the calf on the cow? Our Jersey “calf” is now about a year old, and we’re still using him. We keep thinking we’ll knock him off, but then we decide to take a weekend jaunt somewhere. He’s terribly convenient! I really have no idea what we’d do with all the milk we’d get if he was out of the picture.

Okay, that’s all I can come up with; I must have really stretched things… this post is way longer than I thought it would be! That’s what I get for writing a blog post right after writing an article on washing machine settings options…

