Many thanks to this family for originally turning us on to “The Importance of Being Earnest.” I recently looked it up on YouTube and to my surprise, it was there (I’m always surprised when I actually find something on there that I’m looking for)! Here is one of my favorite scenes from it:

Lady Bracknell: I have always been of the opinion that a man who decides to get married should know either everything or nothing. Which do you know?

Jack: [short pause] I know nothing, Lady Bracknell.

Lady Bracknell: I am pleased to hear it. I do not approve of anything that tampers with natural ignorance. Ignorance is like a delicate exotic fruit; touch it and the bloom is gone. The whole theory of modern education is radically unsound. Fortunately in England, at any rate, education produces no effect whatsoever. If it did, it would prove a serious danger to the upper classes, and probably lead to acts of violence in Grosvenor Square.


Gwendolen and Cecily: [Speaking together] Your Christian names are still an insuperable barrier. That is all!

Jack and Algernon: [Speaking together] Our Christian names! Is that all? But we are going to be christened this afternoon.

Gwendolen: [To Jack] For my sake you are prepared to do this terrible thing?

Jack: I am.

Cecily: [To Algernon] To please me you are ready to face this fearful ordeal?

Algernon: I am!

Gwendolen: How absurd to talk of the equality of the sexes! Where questions of self-sacrifice are concerned, men are infinitely beyond us.

Jack: We are. [Clasps hands with Algernon]

Cecily: They have moments of physical courage of which we women know absolutely nothing.

LOL! Obviously it’s all pure fun and fluff, but I think we have got to get it now! *hint hint, Mama!* If only movie companies realized what a boost YouTube could give them instead of fighting tooth and nail over every little thing. We bought “Enchanted” because we first watched it on YouTube and liked it. I doubt we would have done so otherwise. Now this movie, granted we had seen it before (Thanks, Drapers!), but I found it even more amusing the second time through. Perhaps that’s not normal, but I know we prefer to preview the movie before buying it.

As a completely unrelated side note (can you have those?), Viola’s Homecoming is this weekend. Sounds like they just started the tractor pull…

