We had such a wonderful weekend!

We started the weekend early Thursday morning. We actually left within thirty minutes of our projected time. At this point I have to try to list all the snack-y foods we had in the basket (since that is such an integral part of any trip):

  • rice crispy treats (made the day before)
  • steak on rolls (a particularly good way to eat that kind of left-overs when traveling)
  • granola bars
  • nutter butters
  • vanilla creme cookies
  • fruit
  • peanut butter crackers
  • I think there was more, but I can’t remember right now.

We made a stop around lunch time (noon-ish, I guess) to go shoe shopping. The trip was successful; I greatly dislike going shoe shopping, even when it is successful. It turned out to be pleasant though when Daddy got us all Icees!!! We ate lunch on the road. We made to the Evans’ around 4:30pm, I think. It had rained on us the entire way, but, other than that, it wasn’t such a hard trip. We were on the road for a little over eight hours.

We didn’t go to the baseball game Thursday evening, but instead we fellowshipped with the R’s and P’s (obviously I don’t know how to spell all the names, if I know the names, so I must be forgiven 😉 ). We played, or tried to, a couple of games: Jungle Speed, and later when the Ryken’s (I think I have that one right) got back, Kemps (?). We pulled out the instruments while the R’s and P’s were here, and we had some fun trying to come up with stuff that everybody knew.

Playing and singing Thursday evening.
Thursday night

Friday morning those of us who didn’t go to the meetings we to Wildlife Prairie Park. It felt a bit more like home there. In other words, there were hills and trees. Illinois is very flat; it is a very different kind of beauty than here in middle Tennessee. I had the honor of carrying little miss Katherine Peiffer around some; she is such a cutie!

Claire and Faith

Claire and Faith

Mama and Claire found some flowers and got a picture of a couple they especially liked. Unfortunately, I don’t know what they are exactly.

Flower

The park had many animals, but, if I had to choose, I think I like seeing the bears best… I think. David Peiffer called almost everything a “Woff.” Providence church has an abundance of cute toddlers!

A Bear

There was also a train there which we had to ride. I think Jonathan liked it!

Look at those eyes!

Jonathan and Anna on the train

After the prairie park we went back to get ready for the ordination service. After that we had a delicious meal and a dance. It was a very fun evening! BTW, if anyone happened to get a picture of Garrison falling over everything I would LOVE to see it! 🙂

A Square Dance.

Dancing

Claire and Kyle keep talking about their fun square!

Dancing

After the square dances and before the Virginia Reel there was a beautiful performance of “Shalom.”

Singing “Shalom”

Singing Shalom

The night ended with the Virginia Reel.

Pastor Lovett and Anna

We were allowed to sleep in some Saturday, so we kept the morning nice and relaxed. In the afternoon, once the meeting was officially over, the R’s and P’s came over again; the D’s, K’s, and W’s also came. Please forgive me, I know this must sound like jibberish to someone who wasn’t there, but I don’t know how else to do it right now.

More music!

More music

More wonderful fellowship!

More wonderful fellowship

Someone got up a game of ultimate football. It was just like ultimate frisbee only with a football, and, in my opinion, more fun.Ultimate football

We got to provide the music with Jeremy D. for an impromptu dance.

Playing music with Jeremy D.

Playing and dancing

Lord’s Day morning we worshipped at Providence church, and sat under the teaching of Dr. R. C. Sproul, Jr. We had to leave almost as soon as we finished lunch though. 😦 However, we are looking forward to fellowshipping with the Hectors and the Davises this week and the McDonalds the next!

It was such a wonderful weekend! I can’t wait until next year!

